Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, drawn from academia, business and broader related sectors will determine the winners of the Pharma Industry Awards. Judging will be chaired by Matt Moran (Director, BioPharmaChemIreland).

Our focus is to deliver a balanced judging assessment from industry leaders who will bring their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm and expertise to the judging process ensuring that the winning entries are truly outstanding and worthy of receiving a trophy.


The panel is carefully selected to ensure the Awards judging process is fair and objective. The judges are bound by a strict confidentiality agreement and are required to declare any conflict of interest in entries over which they deliberate, in which case that entry will be reallocated. The integrity of this process lies at the very heart of all that we do.

A comprehensive judging process has been put together to decide the worthy winners of the Pharma Industry Awards.

Judging Co-ordinator

Matt Moran

Director, BioPharmaChem Ireland

Matthew Moran is Director of BioPharmaChem Ireland. BioPharmaChem Ireland represents the interests of the biopharmachem sector in Ireland. 

Judging Panel

Dr. Maria Donovan

Practice Educator, APPEL & Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy, UCC

Maria returned to UCC as a Practice Educator with APPEL in 2016 having studied both for her pharmacy degree and her Ph.D. in Pharmaceutics at UCC.

Margaret Drysdale

Business Unit Head, Rare Metabolic Diseases and Rare Haematology, Takeda

Margaret is the Business Unit Head for Rare Metabolic Diseases and Rare Haematology for Takeda in Ireland, having previously held Franchise Head positions in Genetic Diseases, Internal Medicine and Neuroscience in Shire Pharmaceuticals.

Dr. Adrienne Fleming

Lecturer in Science, Technological University Dublin

Dr Adrienne Fleming is a Lecturer in Science in the School of Science and Computing at the Technological University Dublin.

Dr. Michael Gillen

Senior Executive, BioPharmaChem Ireland

Michael is a Senior Executive with BioPharmaChem Ireland (BPCI) where he has responsibility for environment, health & safety.

Prof. Anne Greene

Senior Lecturer, School of Chemical & Pharmaceutical Sciences, TU Dublin

Anne Greene leads the Pharmaceutical Regulatory Science Team (PRST) in TU Dublin, where she is also a senior lecturer and director of the several MSc. and BSc. Pharmaceutical Programmes, including the TU Dublin MSc in Pharmaceutical Validation Technology.

Finnian Hanrahan

Research Centres Programme Manager for Pharmaceuticals, Medical Devices and Health, Science Foundation Ireland

At Science Foundation Ireland, Finnian is responsibility for Research Centres and policy in the domains of pharmaceuticals, medical devices and health.

Joe Harford

Managing Director, Joe Harford & Associates

Joe Harford is a post graduate of Technology University Dublin and a fellow of the Irish Academy of Engineering, he held various technical and managerial positions with Bristol Myers Squibb, general manager of Newport Pharmaceuticals Ireland and president and chief executive of Astellas Ireland.

Dr. Nessan Kerrigan

Assistant Professor, School of Chemical Sciences, Dublin City University

Nessan Kerrigan carried out his PhD at UCD. After completing his PhD in 2001, Nessan worked with Merck Sharpe & Dohme (Ballydine), and took postdoctoral research associate positions at the University of Glasgow (2002-2004) and University of Pittsburgh (2004-2006).

Prof. Mike Lyons

Head of School of Chemistry, TCD

Mike Lyons is a Fellow of Trinity College Dublin and is Professor in Physical Chemistry and Head of the School of Chemistry, TCD and has served both on the College Council and Board.

Dr. Kieran Nolan

Associate Professor, School of Chemical Sciences, Dublin City University

Kieran Nolan’s research group has been intensively involved in the areas of rational drug design and the environmental sciences since its inception in 2001.

Alan O'Connell

Partner, Seroba Life Sciences

Alan O’Connell is a Partner at Seroba Life Sciences. He has a background in product and business development in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries.

Killian O'Driscoll

Director of Projects, National Institute for Bioprocessing Research and Training (NIBRT)

Killian O’Driscoll is the Director of Projects at the National Institute for Bioprocessing Research and Training (NIBRT).

Dr. Tim Yeomans

Centre Manager, Shannon ABC

Dr. Tim Yeomans is the Centre Manager for Shannon Applied Biotechnology Centre, a collaboration between the Institute of Technology, Tralee and Limerick Institute of Technology.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

For all enquiries, contact our team.

© Pharma Industry Awards 2020.

All Rights Reserved.